Explore 1990s

Anna Nichols is Inducted into the Brandeis University Hall of Fame, 1998

Anna Nichols

  Inducted into the Brandeis University Hall of Fame in 1998, Anna C. Nichols’ career at Brandeis actually stretches back 50 years earlier to when she held the position of the head of women’s athletics, a role she would excel in until her retirement position in the mid-1960’s. Prior to coming to Brandeis her college […]

Women’s Health Initiative is Launched in 1996

Phoebe Giddon

  The Women’s Health Initiative, launched in 1996 with funding from Phoebe (’56) and Dr. Donald Giddon, place Brandeis students at internships with various area hospitals, research institutions, and private practices that have focused on women’s health. For example, in 1999 students were placed at Brigham & Women’s, Mass Eye and Ear Infirmary, The MA […]

Feminist Paper Artemis is Founded in 1980

Artemis Cover

Empowered by the mission to be the amplifier which would “turn up the volume” on Women’s voices, be “a celebration of women’s natural resources which abound in this community”, and to acknowledge that “no true feminism analysis exists without a challenge to racism and classism…and the rigid structures of the patriarchy”, the student-run feminist paper […]

Anita Hill Joins the Women’s Studies Faculty at Brandeis

Anita Hill

Anita F. Hill  Senior Advisor to the Provost, Professor of Law, Public Policy and Women’s Studies, Heller Graduate School of Policy and Management, Brandeis. Of Counsel at Cohen, Milstein, Sellers and Toll (Washington, D.C.) The youngest of 13 children from a farm in rural Oklahoma, Hill received her J.D. from Yale Law School in 1980.  She began her […]

Honorary Degree Recipients

Golda Meir Honorary Degree

What do Israeli Prime Minister Golda Meir (Laws-1969), former Secretary of State Madeline K. Albright (Laws – 1996), Abstract painter Helen Frankenthaler (Humane Letters – 1982), Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg (Laws – 1996) and Producer/Director/Actor/Singer Barbra Streisand (Humane Letters – 1995) all have in common? Each is a Brandeis University Honorary Degree Recipient, […]

The Chris Lerman Prize for Essays on Extraordinary Women is Established in 1995

Holly Jackson Wins the Lerman Award

This annual prize was established in 1995 by Jeanette Lerman-Neubauer ’69 to honor her mother Chris Lerman, a holocaust survivor, national leader on issues pertaining to Israel and the Holocaust, and devoted wife and mother. In the words of Jeanette, Chris is “an extraordinary woman who measured her achievement in terms of nurturing those she […]

Isak Kazes Prize Established in 1997

Shane Landrum wins the Kazes Prize in 2007

Created by Valya Shapiro ’61, in memory of her father and in honor of Jeanette Lerman ’69, this prize was started in 1997 to recognize a graduate student of outstanding achievement, integrity and passion for learning. The Women’s and Gender Studies Program annually selects the recipient of this prize. A full list of honorees is […]

Oliveri Prize, Gift of the Oliveri Family Established in 1994

Sarah Karpman wins the Oliveri Prize in 2006

Started in 1994, this award, created by Rosalie and Joseph Oliveri in honor of Rachel Oliveri ’95, commends a senior for extraordinary service and dedication to the Women’s and Gender Studies Program. The Women’s and Gender Studies Program annually selects the recipient of this prize. A full list of honorees is listed here.  

Richard Saber Grant Established in 1993

Victoria Wiet Wins the 2010-11 Saber Grant

In 1993 the Richard Saber Undergraduate Research Grant was established by Brian Saber ’84 in memory of his father, Richard Saber. The grant is awarded every fall to a Brandeis undergraduate to support a research project in the field of Women’s and Gender Studies. The grant is designed to fund original research using the library, […]

Bernadette Brooten Joins the Brandeis Faculty in 1993

Bernadette Brooten

Bernadette J. Brooten, a foremost scholar of early Christianity and Judaism, came to Brandeis from Harvard Divinity School in 1993 and is the Myra and Robert Kraft and Jacob Hiatt Professor of Christian Studies.   She was the first openly lesbian and first woman to be tenured in Near Eastern and Judaic Studies.  Author of the award […]